- Free Consultation: (714) 547-4636 Tap Here to Call Us
Carrying a Concealed Weapon
The night of January 26, 2010, a 17-year-old gang member was arrested in Santa Ana, Orange County for carrying a loaded weapon. The incident occurred when police spotted the teen riding a “beach cruiser” and “acting suspicious.”
When the officer tried to stop the teen, he jumped off the bike and ran. Police found him later hiding while carrying a loaded .38 caliber revolver.
California prohibits any individual from carrying a concealed firearm upon his or her person or within any vehicle under his or her control or in which he or she is an occupant. Under California Penal Code Section 12025, carrying a concealed firearm is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison, OR by imprisonment in a county jail not to exceed one year, by a fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), OR by both fine and imprisonment if: (1) The firearm and ammunition are in immediate possession. Notably, a weapon that is loaded can be transported in a car if it is in a locked container like a carrying case or in the trunk of the car. It can only be carried on the person if the individual is going to or from a vehicle and the weapon must still be in a locked case.